Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Mask review

DSCN0411

A few weeks ago I got chatting to a skincare expert for work. We were discussing different skin types and how to best care for them when she told me everyone should do three to four face masks a week. A week! I love beauty products but treatments are something I’m really lazy about. I do exfoliate a couple of times a week but face masks are a whole other ballgame. Since the discussion I’ve been doing at least three a week but before then… honestly I can’t remember when I last did one.

Top of the list of ones I’ve been testing out is Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Mask which is for dehydrated skin. Everyone knows about the main skin types – dry, oily, combination and normal. I used to think I had fairly normal skin but over the last few months it has been feeling tight and has definitely become drier. It’s not flaky, but it has looked a bit grey. I read up on dehydrated skin and it’s me all over – it’s a lack of water rather than a lack of oil and it can make you look dull. I come out of the shower and if my skin could talk it would be shouting at me to apply moisturiser. Those are classic signs of dehydrated skin, so I have that with a bit of dryness thrown in.

DSCN0410

When I first started using this mask I wasn’t sure if it would be right for my skin. It’s a thick cream which you layer onto your face and then leave for five to ten minutes, according to the pack. I tend to let it sit there for a little longer, then you remove using cotton wool and toner. Hands up, the first time I wasn’t that fussed. My skin felt quite nice but nothing to really write home about. I wanted to keep trying though and I’m glad I did because this is definitely one where persistence pays off. After my second go my skin was softer and less tight and using it a couple of times a week has given me more of a glow and got rid of the dullness.

DSCN0415

It contains hyaluronic acid, which is probably why it is so good. If you have dehydrated skin this is a good ingredient to look out for. It is natural and it clings to water, so it helps keep your skin looking full. I love the beauty writer Sali Hughes (she has dehydrated skin too) and she advises looking for glycerin on the ingredients list as well. Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Mask also has this, so thumbs up there.

It’s not that cheap, you can get it for £33 here. I know some people found think nothing of spending that on a mask but I think it’s quite a lot. However I’d say it’s worth it if you have dehydration, it’s really helped my face look healthier and more luminous. Who else has types for treating dehydrated skin? I’d love to hear some.

DSCN0412

2 thoughts on “Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Mask review

  1. Pingback: Guess who’s back? | The Style Spot

  2. Pingback: Bio2You Organic Skin Mask review | The Style Spot

Leave a comment